Contemporary Alaska

I am in Alaska shooting right now and any of you that know me know that Alaska and The North hold a very special place in my heart.  I have also noticed that in the last 5 years or so there has been a veritable explosion of sorts of all things Alaska onto the pop culture scene, especally in the area of contemporary photography (since that is what I am involved in of course I would see it from that angle).  Between the Discovery Channel finding a new gold mine for shooting TV and Sarah Palin’s eruption onto the national scene (please, just leave as fast) and all of the great photography that is coming out of the state, it’s pretty exciting.  I want to just point out a few folks who are producing really good work up here…

Jennifer Boomer

Ben Huff

Dana Lixenberg

Corey Arnold

And one who is just producing work (can’t say it’s good because that is too pretentious)…

Hollis Bennett

I’m sure there are more out there so please, if you are working up North please, let me know, I would love to see and share your work.

One thought on “Contemporary Alaska

  1. Tried to buy a Graflex on Craigslist the other day. I haven’t talked to you in months, and yet you still manage to poison my brain with your large format nonsense. When you going to be in PDX?

Leave a Reply

