Back from Alaska and a rough wrap up of the last few weeks.

So, Im back from Alaska and the Yukon after heading up for 10 days or so.  I went to see an old friend and to shoot some new work.  It was unseasonably cold when I arrived, especially since when I boarded the flight in Chicago it was 103 but then again, its Alaska – these things happen.  After touching ground it was off to the races with a quick trip up to Talkeetna to watch what had to have been the worst public art performance ever.  I think it was actually so bad it was good.  From there it was back to Anchorage to gather some gear and then down to the epic landscape of Seward.  Yes, some salmon fishing did happen even though the run this year was just atrocious.  After cooking up some salmon and making a whole mess of ceviche it was time to turn the car around and head North.  After many, many hours of driving, we took the left turn after Tok, AK and headed towards Chicken, AK and the Canadian border.  Needless to say, this was probably the most amazing drive I have ever taken.  I promise, I shot the hell out of some film up there, just waiting on the lab to run through the deluge of 120 I sent them.  After the drive and Chicken we found ourselves square in the middle of the Klondike in Dawson City.  I won’t go into too much detail but shots of whiskey that had real human toes in them were drank.  Seriously.  Needless to say, there are stories to be shared and memories to try and erase.

 

All in all, it was an amazing trip and I have a TON of new work that will be slowly working its way onto the new site.

I have a lot of new tearsheets up on the site as well and in addition to that, look for a general reworking of the galleries and images on my site.

I have a new portfolio being hand built at the moment so, ask and you can perhaps have it on your desk.

Finally, the big news for the month is that I have been selected as 1 of 2 photographers to travel over to NE China to produce a body of work for their tourism/cultural affairs board.  I will be in China from at least Aug. 1 – Aug. 6 working on that but am probably going to be extending that.

 

More images to come but for now, a nice one when the sun was shining in Alaska…Image

Leave a Reply

