Ice station zebra

Ive just come back from shooting in Minnesota during one of the coldest winters in recent history.  I really know how to pick my locations for my shoots, right?  Im sure Ill end up choosing to go to South Mississippi in the middle of the summer for a shoot when its 100 deg. and 100% humidity…  Anyways, I was in MN and it was cold, we’ll just leave it at that and not talk about how I could barely operate my camera and my shutter freezing up.

So, why was I up there?  Well, I decided to check out what ice fishing was all about.  You see, Im a bit of a fishing addict and I had to try my hand at this odd variation of my favorite way to spend time outdoors.  It didn’t hurt that it had an odd Americana vibe to it and generally misunderstood by most all outside of the northern latitudes.  I was prepared to find a bunch of men drunk on cheap beer and whiskey staring at small holes in the ice and perhaps a bit crazy from the cold and the absurdity of it all and, well, that’s what I found.

 

Ice Fishing_002

Aside from the small pike I caught, the only other fish I saw out on Mille Lacs was this small guy called an eel pout.  They are considered a trash fish and this one found a second life as a shot glass.  You see, these guys froze the fish solid with its mouth open the night before and that way they were able to pour liquor into its mouth and then into theirs.  Like I said, things got strange out on the ice.

Ice Fishing_031 Ice Fishing_027 Ice Fishing_023

 

 

I was able to try my hand at a bit of fishing (drinking in a small hut with a rod near by) and actually caught a fish in the first 20 minutes so, I don’t have to do that again.  All in all it was a blast and I have some fun images from it.  Regardless, Ill take fly fishing in the Bahamas any day…

photo

 

Leave a Reply

